Was Tyrese Insulting Black Women In His Latest Video?

9 Aug

By JasmineHughes

Last week, Tyrese posted a behind-the-scenes video clip for his anticipated single “I Gotta Chick” from his upcoming “Open Invitation” album, due out in November.

“I think a lot of people are going to be shocked with this video, this is my comeback,” he said. “I’m back, homie. We’re going to bring class, tact and good energy back to these videos. ”

Well he got the ‘shocked’ part right, many of his fans, most of whom are Black women, were surprised by the lack of representation they received in his latest project.

For the record, this video was shot in the typical ‘style’ we have grown accustomed to from young, male artists and many, including myself, thought it actually lacked ‘class’ and ‘tact.’  The video was a virtual orgy; with about 15-20 women featured on set, there was just one Black female model amongst a slew of White, Asian and mixed origins women. Most of whom were lubed-up, dancing on and dry humping one another as Tyrese sings lyrics like “I f***s with her hard/ She’s my lil’ ghetto sex soldier.”

When fans tweeted to find out why more black girls weren’t chosen, he responded: “I had a 2 day audition. I welcomed ALL women and went with the BEST. I don’t do favors… Doesn’t matter the race!! I’m Black as s**t!!! Love my sisters!! You do auditions and go for the BEST! Not race! Love u”

Judge for yourself and check out the footage and tell us if you can spot the ‘class’ and ‘tact’ that was promised. While you watch ask yourself, was it Tyrese’s obligation to seek out more Black women if he wasn’t happy with who arrived to audition?

About jasminesnroses

Hello World. I’m a recent graduate of Rutgers University, trying to make my mark. I have many interests, curiosities and ideas. All of which can be found here. So stick around =)

5 Responses to “Was Tyrese Insulting Black Women In His Latest Video?”

  1. nubianqueen7 August 9, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I don’t need to see a video to make the conclusion that Tyrese is trying to cater to a hip hop male market.

    We the adoring public to all the hip hops guys who use women in there videos as sex objects have allowed and encouraged this behavior. If women and men actually cared about anything they wouldn’t even give him the time of day.j

    It is nothing new that black “so called singers” don’t want Black women in their videos. This is a common fact in the video arena. I know of a rapper who was upset when he found out there was black women in his video. So all the black chicks were cast to the back and not given any screen time.

    We have allowed this to happen…This conversation should have been started back when LLCool J made his video going back to Cali ….that features no black women in it.

    • shellfish789 August 10, 2011 at 5:23 am #

      What’s so wrong with being BLACK?

Leave a Reply

